poems of the sun

this is for you, and to all the things we didn’t do.

this is, all of this, for you. our dance, the one in the rain, the one we didn’t do. this is, you and me, under the moonlit tree. this is, you and I, together by the fire and in the heat. this is, all of this, like the kisses and the way our lips never meet. this, all this, for you and me.

alone together and alone apart. this is, you and me.

for the songs that keep pouring, and the words that never come. for the times we lived together, in the past. for the years, I didn’t know you, for the years, too long, too far gone. this is, this is for you and me. for the way you laugh and it sets me afire, the way you laugh and it makes me ache, the way you smile and it sends me, over the edge. for the way your voice travels up and down the back of my spine, the way your voice resonates long after it’s gone. for the way your face doesn’t fade, and returns and returns, to haunt my dreams.

how does it feel, you and me, in an alternate reality? how does it feel, you and I, walking the roads, never walked by? how does it feel, you and me, in the sunlight, a better place, a home in the sky? how does it feel, just walking, just walking by?

alone together and alone apart, you and me. we say goodbye, keep saying goodbye, you and I.

Leave a Reply

