Autumn’s Daughter

I walk on dried leaves, just like I walked on water for you. I walked on water for you. I laughed in love, in love I wept and cried. A broken man plays a broken cello and in the shadow of his weeping music, I dance. Just like I danced in your arms that spring the flowers bloomed, one wonderful day the sun never set. Like two swans we waded out into the sea and the blossoming halo of a perfect sunset welcomed us. A promise it gave, a calm certainty of hope. A comfort it gave of what things lie beyond. The notes of this cello wring the pain from my heart and I remember, a trust given and a trust broken; the beauty of woven lies, resplendent in all their deception. And caught in the trap of a dying and devouring spider, glued to the silken string of an impending death, I wait.
Leave a Reply

